Home » Food » Bacon!!!

Bacon!!!

Image

Dear Cyber-Friends,

Bacon is delicious.

Home-cured, home-made, smoked bacon from home-grown, GMO-free, organic pigs is just…the best thing ever. Seriously.

So it’s obvious I had to use it in a recipe.

Image

This has become my go-to recipe book for ideas of the quick and easy. I’ve already shared one of my standard recipes in this post, so now it’s time for another one: Drop Biscuits.

There’s a couple variations, but all use the same proportions of ingredients as a base, so it’s easy to mix-and-match what you want. The biscuits are a yummy snack if you’re in the mood for something more savory than a muffin, and they are a great accompaniment for soups and salads. I’ve even used them to make the most awesome mini tuna melt sliders!

I made the Bacon Biscuits this time, but since the variations are so similar and easy, I’ll give you them all at once and you can experiment as you like!

Image

4 Eggs

1/4 cup Bacon Drippings (Non-Bacon version: same amount of Butter or Coconut Oil.)

(Non-Bacon version: 1/4 cup Honey or Raw Sugar. This is left out for the Bacon and the Cheese versions, but I added about 1 tablespoon anyway, just because I like them with a hint of sweetness. For plain biscuits, I still add a little less than the 1/4 cup, because I don’t want them overly sweet.)

1/4 teaspoon Salt

(Non-Bacon version: for Cheese Biscuits add 1/4 teaspoon Onion Powder. I would also recommend for ANY version adding 1/4-1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder, and maybe a dash or two of parley flakes, and whatever else you felt like.)

1/3 cup Coconut Flour

1/4 teaspoon Baking Powder

and of course, 6-8 strips Crisp Bacon, Crumbled. (Non-Bacon version: leave out, or replace with 1/2 cup Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded, for Cheese Biscuits.)

Image

To begin, preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit because this is going to go fast.

Combine the eggs, bacon drippings, salt, garlic powder, and raw sugar, and beat it with a whisk until smooth.

Pro Tip: I’ve found that hand-whisking the eggs in coconut flour recipes really helps end result be more fluffy, since there’s no gluten to do that job and the baking powder doesn’t seem to have quite the same effect alone.

Then add the coconut flour and baking powder, and beat it more with the whisk until blended. Add the bacon crumbles and fold together with a spoon.

Drop fluffy spoonfuls onto a greased baking sheet (I used coconut oil).

Image

They should look something like this. The yellowness comes from yolks of our farm eggs, because our chickens get to feast on grasses and weeds.

Bake for 14-15 minutes. I did 15, but probably would have been fine with less time. Sometimes I need more. It just depends, so go low and check them before you take them out. You can always add more time if you need to.

Image

Yum!

They’re delicious fresh and hot from the oven, or cooled down. They’re even great when they’re cold from the fridge; and if you have leftovers, that’s where you’ll want to keep them. The high egg content means they spoil quickly on the counter, but they keep just fine for several days when refrigerated. I haven’t tried freezing them yet — since I tend to eat them all before they’d get there — but if you do try please let me know how it works out!

Happy eating, and enjoy your food!

Love,

Gegi.

Leave a Reply

