Home » Geeking Out » Making Make-Up, part one.

Making Make-Up, part one.

Dear Cyber-Friends,

About a year or so ago, I started down the path of making my own skin and hair care products. It’s been a fulfilling and addictive habit, and has led to the natural progression of wanting to make my own make-up. If I’m going to make the effort of keeping everything I clean and moisturize with fairly healthy for my body, then it only makes sense to do the same with make-up!

That said, I admit I don’t go to the same lengths as other people with keeping everything natural. I like what I like, and I’m okay with a little compromise once in a while. I figure I still have a net benefit, because most of the things I’m using really are great, I know exactly what’s in everything, and there aren’t any extra weird chemical ingredients.

Also, this post is in no way sponsored by anyone, nor am I receiving any compensation for my opinions, nor am I endorsing anything or anyone. This is just a review based on my perception. Okay, disclaimers over!

I recently make an order of mica powder (and a couple iron oxides, and 10 gram jars with sifters) from Coastal Scents. I’m planning on using them for color in basically everything: eyeshadow, lipstick, nail polish, blush, etc. I LOVE shimmer in my make-up, so mica powders are perfect for me. If I’m going for a neutral look, I tend to just not wear anything; make-up for me is to show off.

I figured I’d review the mica powders a little, in case any of you were curious about some of the colors Coastal Scents have to offer. The ones I got are all made with just mica and iron oxide, none of the other ingredients, and they are all marked as safe for use around eyes, lips, skin, and nails. I mostly ordered samples of the different shades of reddish-pinkish colors, because I wanted to compare them.

I love using reds and coppers to bring out the green in my irises. My eyes are kind of a medium blue-green with yellow flecks; I think of peacock feathers when I look at them closely. And, obviously, I have light pinkish skin; the kind that burns in sunlight and never really tans. Kinda like a vampire, but warm-blooded.

Part one of these posts will be unpacking the box, and on Friday part two will be a sample around my eye.

Let’s begin…

Image

…with all the colors!

These are one swipe with a make-up brush out the sample bag, no fillers or primers.

From left to right, there is:

Cosmetic Iron Oxide Red (the only one without mica powder).

Blackstar Red.

Copper.

Metallic Pearl Honey Tan.

Blue Claret Pearl.

Bordeaux.

Cerise Flambe.

Roussillon.

Sienna.

Satin Rouge.

If you want to see any of these closer up, just leave me a comment. Otherwise, I’ll skip posting a billionty pictures. I’ll talk a little more about my impressions of each of these in the next post.

I also got Semi-Matte, which is a mostly translucent plain mica powder. I used it to show the size of the sample bags from Coastal Scents:

Image

They gave me very generous samples; even the smallest amount was enough to fill a 10 gram jar with a sifter (the average size of storebought loose eyeshadow powder that last approximatly forever). Most of the bags had almost 20 grams, enough to fill the jar twice.

With the powders and the box of 25 jars, they also gave me a free sample of their African Black Soap; also a generous size, though I haven’t actually tried it yet.

Alright, that’s everything for this half. My next post on Friday will show them applied around my eye, so you can get a better idea of what they’re like to use. If you want more pictures of them after that, just ask me in the comments!

Love,

GeGi.

Leave a Reply

