Home » Geeking Out » Boosting the signal. » YouTube Roundup.

YouTube Roundup.

Dear Cyber-Friends,

Last weekend, I indulged it a little decompression time…okay, a LOT of decompression time. I spent most of it catching up on a few favorite YouTube channels, which obviously led to discovering new favorite YouTube channels, and, well, long story short I figured I’d do a roundup of them here so I could feel a little more productive about how I chose to spend my days off.

I’m sure a lot of you more internet-geeky types have already heard of most of these, but in case any slipped past you, or in case you are a little behind on most things like me, or you just don’t have time to look for this stuff yourself, here’s some of the things I’ve enjoyed watching lately!

(All links will be to the “video” page of each channel — because, if you are a somewhat compulsive perfectionist completionist like me, then you will want the quickest way to watch ALL the videos in chronological order… but if it’s just me that does that, it’s still easy to click to the main page of the channel from there…)

The first channel I HAVE to mention, of course, is The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. If you haven’t seen it, GO WATCH RIGHT NOW. But, actually, go HERE because that way you can follow the whole story through all media platforms… you’ll see what I mean. If you didn’t like it, you probably won’t like at least half the things on my list.

This is a natural segue to mentioning Pemberley Digital. After finishing The Lizzie Bennet Diaries — which, by the way, is a modern vlog-style adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice — the same people went on to create more awesome Austen adaptation content. Here you can find Welcome To Sanditon (inspired by Austen’s last and unfinished novel), and the currently running Emma Approved (based, obviously, on Emma). I highly recommend watching them. The quality and cleverness of the videos is amazing, and if you are a fan of Jane Austen, or even if you could never quite get into it due to language or setting, you will probably love these retellings as much as I do.

Speaking of retellings and modern vlog-style adaptations, you should ABSOLUTELY watch The Autobiography of Jane Eyre. I am completely in love with this oh-so-sweet version of the beloved Jane Eyre, and I think you should be too. You might think it starts out slow, but give it a chance and keep watching (I highly recommend marathoning to catch up). It is one of my favorite things on the internet.

Another modern-day vlog-style literary adaptation I recently started watching is Anne With An E. If you are familiar with Anne of Green Gables, etc, then you already know the reference. There aren’t a lot of videos up yet, but so far it’s cute, and I’m giving it a shot.

To continue this theme, I also just discovered The Peculiar Case of Formula 12. This is not quite a straight-up vlog-style — reminds me more of a found-footage movie, perhaps — and it ends on a cliff-hanger until the next season is made. Nevertheless, I found it to be a compelling and interesting retelling of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

Another unique take on this popular idea is Classic Alice. Presented as documentary/project by college students, the idea is that the titular Alice chooses a classic novel she’s never read before, and makes decisions and actions in her life that are in keeping with the main character of each book, in order to experience and understand life as that person. This is also only one season so far, but I like the concept and am interested in seeing where they go with it.

One channel I’m keeping an eye on despite having no videos yet is The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy. It is, of course, going to be another modern retelling/adaptation type, inspired by Peter Pan, and I’m looking forward to seeing what they do with it.

If you’re looking for Game of Thrones + parody and satire + general silliness x clever humour, then the answer is obviously = School of Thrones. This three-episode series was enjoyed by Jon Snow/Kit Harington, so, you know, it’s gotta be awesome, right? Plus, I’d watch anything Mary Kate Wiles is in, just because.

Speaking of which, check out the fantastic stuff on Shipwrecked (I LOVE “Kissing in the Rain”) and Yulin Kuang (favorites there include “I Didn’t Write This – Episode 6: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell” and “The Perils of Growing Up Flat-Chested”). Here are some adjectives I would use to describe the videos found on both channels: clever, funny, artistic, literary, original, and sweet.

My list would be incomplete without mentioning Not Literally. I consider their music video parodies to be essential watching for us geeky fandom types. The Ask Hogwarts series makes me giggle regularly, and Ask Westeros is looking just as fun. Make your day better and check them out.

Alright, there are other channels I watch and could talk about, but I think this list is long enough for now. I hope this helps you discover new treasures and makes your week a little bit brighter.

Love,

GeGi.

Leave a Reply

