Home » Backstory » Tattoo Update.

Tattoo Update.

Dear Cyber-Friends,

I have been very remiss in my blogger life; no posts the entire month of February!

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll have seen glimpses of my life between blog posts. If not, then here at last are the photos of the finished arm tattoo, as promised:

tat1 tat2

As you can see, it’s not quite what I had talked about before the artist finished his design, but each change was okay’d by me along the way. It took two sittings to finish — these photos are from a couple days after the second sitting, so the upper part is still a little raw and healing here. That was about three weeks ago. The whole thing is healed up now, and looks AMAZING. I’m totally in love with this artwork I’m permanently wearing, proud to show it off, and so happy that the meaning I have for the imagery is still just as present, if a bit more unified and subtle now (both good things, actually).

In other news, I only have three weeks of work left here at the Montana ranch. When the season ends, I’ll be taking off for new adventures! I’m deep in planning mode right now on my weekends; my first stop will be Tacoma, then on to Grants Pass to visit my brother (first time I’ll be seeing him in about seven years, I think), across New Mexico and into Utah to explore the Canyonlands and Arches, down to Fort Worth (via Billy The Kid’s grave — my sister is EXTREMELY jealous) to the Scarborough Renaissance Festival with a friend, and then finally back up to Colorado to the ranch I spent last summer working at, for my second season there. The road trip be about 3.5k miles total, so I’m quite happy that my car gets pretty great gas mileage, and that I won’t be paying Hawaii prices to fill up.

I have also been working on my sci-fi novel in fits and starts, making decent progress and compelling (I hope) plot tweaks. I’ve been recovering from a reoccurring bout of depression, etc, and am slowly getting back to being stable (as stable as I ever am, anyway). I’m surviving roomie/co-worker dramas (mostly by counting down the days until I never have to see them again). I’ve been consuming vast amounts of various media forms — books, TV shows, movies, music, websites. I’ve been as slack about cross-country skiing as I have been about blogging. I’ve had things I wanted to say here, but lacked the energy/time/space (partly due to said depression and dramas) to actually write about any of it. I’ve mourned the death of Sir Terry Pratchett; privately, with my family, and on Twitter. I may write about him here later, I may not. It’s hard to talk about, but so very meaningful. We’ll see.

So, yeah, that’s pretty much it. I just wanted to drop in, show off the tat, catch you all up a little on what’s been happening… I don’t have anything particular to say right now beyond that. My eloquence has been compromised by the hours I just invested in research for the trip prior to attempting to write this. I’ll sign off now and do something that requires less brainpower for a while.

Take care of yourselves and each other.

Love,

GeGi.

Leave a Reply

