Home » Trip Log » Update and Trip Log: Photo Album, part six.

Update and Trip Log: Photo Album, part six.

Dear Cyber-Friends,

Well, so much for posting ANYTHING the ENTIRE month of August… Sorry about that.

So, since last I wrote, I’ve been dealing with a shoulder injury and (not unrelated) rather severe depression. One of those things is much better, the other is slowly leveling out. I’m gonna leave it at that for now, because I’m sick of talking about either at the moment. I’m doing mostly okay now; enough that I’ll make it through the rest of the season, at least.

I’ve also been making preliminary plans to move to Portland, OR, for the winter. Partly because of this and partly because it’s absolutely disgraceful I haven’t finished yet, I’m giving myself the deadline of finishing posting the photos from my Spring Road Trip before I leave the ranch, which should give me about three-and-a-half weeks… Wish me luck, or better yet, motivation.

Anyway, when I last left you, I was driving through Arches National Park for the second time… I stopped at a little overlook place, and noticed something interesting was happening:

IMG_0041 IMG_0048

Given the view I could photograph from the ground, I can only imagine how amazing it would look from up there:

IMG_0057

IMG_0060

IMG_0061 IMG_0063 IMG_0044 IMG_0047 IMG_0056 IMG_0058

Next, I headed further up the park road to Double Arch trail, where I could first check out North Window, South Window, and Turret Arch.

IMG_0068 IMG_0069 IMG_0070 IMG_0071 IMG_0075 IMG_0076 IMG_0079

IMG_0084

(This one made me think of a huge troll peeking over the horizon, with the arches as eyes and the middle bit a big bulging nose, and that rock on the right his hand or finger or something. Seeing it like that made me think of how much fun I’d be having if my family where there with me and we could joke about it in person.)

Finally, I took the actual path to Double Arch:

IMG_0089 IMG_0095

This place was very cool. I took a lot more pictures, but these were the best two. Mostly, though, it’s one of those places you just need to go to in person. You can climb all around under the arches, and see places in the cliffs where more arches are starting to form, and the whole thing is really accessible and fun. It’s another spot that reminded me strongly of how much I wished this was a family vacation.

I finished out the day’s adventuring with a quick peek (yay for a good zoom lens, because I did not feel like hiking up there. Something for next time!) at Utah’s most iconic Delicate Arch:

IMG_0109 IMG_0110

Next time, tune in for Needles Overlook and Newspaper Rock!

Love,

GeGi.

Leave a Reply

