Home » Trip Log » Trip Log: Carlsbad Caverns.

Trip Log: Carlsbad Caverns.

Dear Cyber-Friends,

Remember what I said that other day about this is mostly just lots and lots of photos and sorry to your internet connection? Yeah, I’m doing that again… But first, more story! Please see last post if you want the actual words I had to say about leading up to Carlsbad Caverns. Also, I managed to get it down to about 40 photos instead of 60, so I’m just going to be ridiculous and post them all at once right now.

When I got there, a huge storm was on the way, and there were only a few parts of the cavern system still open due to a concern about possible flooding. I went on the self-guided loop first, then a paid-for ranger-guided loop (the ranger was this awesome hilarious old guy with all kinds of stories about the caves — very fun, and totally worth it). On that hike, I met another fellow traveler — a girl around my age or younger, who was also living out of her car while on her way to a ranch job for the summer, in a different part of Colorado from “my” ranch.

She and I talked during the and after the guided hike, and then I joined her for a second (for me, first for her) round of the self-guided hike, still talking. At that point, we both decided neither of us wanted to camp in the rainstorm outside, so we agreed to split the cost of a motel room (and later, split the cost of a pizza for dinner). Best decision ever; it felt so amazing to sleep in a real bed, have a hot shower, even soak in a hot tub for a bit. The next day, she headed north and I headed east to Texas…

But before the story continues, here’s the last batch of photos from my Spring Road Trip. Most of these were taken without flash because my camera is kind of awesome for being so affordable. Interestingly, using the ambient light from the various low-lights the park service installed throughout the caves had the effect of making the place look like some kind of underwater coral/ice palace. To my eyes while I was there, I didn’t see nearly as much colors in the rocks. To the camera, however… it was extra magical. (oh yeah, and there was actually a place call the Bottomless Pit…)

IMG_0001 IMG_0020 IMG_0018 IMG_0010 IMG_0009 IMG_0005 IMG_0002

IMG_0026

IMG_0028 IMG_0030 IMG_0031 IMG_0035 IMG_0044 IMG_0045 IMG_0046 IMG_0052 IMG_0053 IMG_0054 IMG_0056 IMG_0058 IMG_0060 IMG_0061 IMG_0062

IMG_0063 IMG_0067 IMG_0069 IMG_0070 IMG_0072 IMG_0073 IMG_0075 IMG_0077 IMG_0078 IMG_0079 IMG_0080 IMG_0082 IMG_0083 IMG_0084 IMG_0085

I hope you managed to get through all those! Obviously it’s way better in person. I’m so in love with this place. I literally spend most of the day there, deep underground, and was probably the happiest I’d been in days.

Next time, more words! More story! But no more photos, because I’d gotten lazy and had basically stopped taking them.

Love,

GeGi.

Leave a Reply

