Home » Geeking Out » Boosting the signal. » Book Review » Goodreads Review: Fan Art.

Goodreads Review: Fan Art.

Fan ArtFan Art by Sarah Tregay
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If you like flail-worthy queer fluff about adorable boys who need to just get a clue and/or take a chance, throughout most of a strangely-hard-to-put-down book, this is the story for you! So, basically, in the same category as Simon Vs…

There’s a lot to love about this book. I literally spent the entire last ten pages in a state of constant fangirling flail and squee, for example. Jamie is easy to like and is mostly intelligent (always a nice trait in YA protagonists). I like that he’s out to his family but not to his school or friends, because that’s a little different than a lot of set-ups in this genre. Mason is compelling as his best friend/secret crush, and the high school has some pretty interesting kids and clubs. It was a quick read, and definitely felt like fluff, but was very engaging and compelling fluff with real heart and dealing with real issues. It didn’t feel meaningless at all, and I ended it feeling both satisfied and wanting to read it again (and also interested in reading more and/or fanfic about them).

The only things that kinda pulled me out of the story a couple times were:
1) It takes place in Idaho, my old homestate where I grew up, and reading names of places I know in fiction tends to throw me a little and make me more critical about descriptions of places.
2) Certain slang that’s incredibly common in certain online circles gets used a lot at various points, which I pretty much loved except for the times when it felt like it was being used slightly…off. Like, saying “slash them together” instead of “shipping them” or “slash-shipping them”. Like, it’s almost right and I understand why it’s being used that way, but it’s not the way I tend to see it used these days, so it felt…off. It’s not a huge thing, and it’s entirely acceptable in context, but it feels…not quite right.

Regardless of these two minor issues, I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to pretty much everyone. Well, everyone who doesn’t hate cute queer YA, anyway!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

