Home » Geeking Out » Boosting the signal. » Book Review » Goodreads Review: Stay Awhile.

Goodreads Review: Stay Awhile.

Stay Awhile: Wilfair Book 3Stay Awhile: Wilfair Book 3 by Alysia Gray Painter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m waffling about my rating a little bit, so for now let’s split the difference and call it 4.5 stars. If I reread it and donut space it out into little bite-sized bits over nearly an entire month, I might have a clearer idea about what to rate it.

So. This book. This series. I love how, when I read a Wilfair book, I start typing kind of like how Fair narrates. Anyway. It’s charming, and she’s delightful, and in the third book she really starts to evolve and grow, too, taking more risks and chances and control. It’s great to see, and I really cheered her on a lot. Also, this book is when the slow-burn-is-it-or-isn’t-it-a-ship really just took off into OMG THE SHIP IS SAILING AND I’M SO ON BOARD THE SLOW BURN IS FIGURATIVELY KILLING ME AND I LOVE EVERY BIT OF IT. At least for me. It’s super cute, and totally awkward and hot, and basically the very best kind of slow burn super shippy-ship.

And as a bonus, this book FINALLY starts answering some of the questions. Like, way more questions also happen as a result, and some of them get answered too, and everything gets SUPER surreal for a while (even by Wilfair standards), but then it all kind of settles back into place and becomes the new normal. These books are amazing as guides of how to just kinda go with things as they happen, no matter how strange or improbable. They’re pretty great like that.

The TL;DR version is that the third book is even more whimsical and strange and wonderful than the first one, and I enjoyed it even more than the second one (which basically just felt like a road trip for the entire book). Now on to the fourth book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

