Home » Geeking Out » Boosting the signal. » Book Review » Goodreads Crossover Mini-Reviews!

Goodreads Crossover Mini-Reviews!

Dear Cyber-Friends,

I’ve been having a hell of a month. I’ll tell you about it later, but for now, please enjoy these not-quite-up-to-my-usual-level mini-reviews of what I’ve been reading lately!

Love,

GeGi.

You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)You’re Never Weird on the Internet by Felicia Day
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, so I really really liked this book. I love Felicia Day anyway, so I was pretty excited to read this. And I was not disappointed…

Basically on every page, I was coming across things that made me go, “omg I relate to this so hard!!!!” in my head. Starting with the style of homeschooling, continuing with the finding your people on the internet, going on strong with the social anxiety and self doubt, and finishing dramatically with the wicked sense of humor and embracing of the weirdness.

View all my reviews

Written in Red (The Others, #1)Written in Red by Anne Bishop
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay, this isn’t going to be a proper review, because I’ve been too stressed and busy to take the time to do it right away. But I needed to at least say a little bit, because this book and the ones that followed were AMAZING, and I’m now a huge fan. The world-building blew me away with how well thought-out everything was, creating a sense of history and place and people and politics on every level, in a consistent and expanding way as the series went on. The races and interactions were all very fleshed out and believable. There’s SO MUCH in these books, and none of it drags or makes me feel like I just want to gloss over it to get back to the action/interactions. It’s all woven together so the info-dumps come with actual things to care about, building a character or the politics or the history, or usual all three at once. I could read it quickly and easily, and actually had a very hard time stopping, and it had me on the edge of my seat pretty much the whole time because it balanced out the world-building with the character interactions with the action events so well the entire time. I would definitely recommend this series, especially for fans of urban fantasy who want a great story with amazing world-building.

View all my reviews

The Royal WeThe Royal We by Heather Cocks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is how to do a modern fairytale love story and make it real…

I picked this to read because I wanted something lighter, semi-fluff, while I was stressed out. I sort of got what I wanted, I guess…??? But actually, this was even better. It’s real and heartfelt and sometimes raw, and it’s funny and outrageous and sweet. I’m not even sure how to describe it. Just read it yourself. It’s worth it.

View all my reviews

The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1)The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was on the fence a little when I started this, and for a while into it. But I persisted, and it paid off with a really enjoyable story. Certain twists I predicted very early and easily, though, and that always counts against a book in my world. In this case, it wasn’t enough that I didn’t still like the book, and I may even read it again at some point because the world-building concept this series is based on was kind of fun and interesting (and I won’t say more because potential spoilers).

The Jack The Ripper aspect was really interesting, and I think exploring that event in history with this new setting was the biggest thing that kept me hooked. Sorry, Rory: I liked you okay, but you just weren’t enough to carry this on your own for me. The narrative, combined with the predicable plot twists, would have made this entire thing feel a little too “young” to really hold me, otherwise. I’ll be reading the next book, and we’ll see how I like where that one goes…

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

